En savoir plus
Chrysantellum - Latitudes23
807
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-807,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1200,side_area_uncovered_from_content,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Chrysantellum

Common name
Chrysanthellum americanum
Scientific name
Chrysanthellum indicum DC. subsp. afroamericanum B.L.Turner
Part
Entire plant
Origin
South America, Africa

Our supply chain

Country
Burkina Faso
Harvest season
From June to October
Description

Latitudes 23° has set up production chains of Chrysantellum americanum in the south of Burkina Faso. By engaging village dwellers, this farming activity has encouraged other similar economic initiatives in the region and has helped create alternative sources of income for rural and impoverished families. Harvesting takes place during the rainy season between June and October. Plant sales have allowed these families to finance the purchase of school supplies for the beginning of the school term.

Awareness campaigns have taken place among the women of different villages in order to guarantee a sustainable harvest, respectful of the resources and the environment of the savanna. Furthermore, transmitting the knowledge of proper practices applied to the drying, sorting and conditioning process to the population, has contributed to the preservation of the inherent quality of the plant.

Plant description

Macroscopic description

The drug is composed of the whole plant including the root. See botanical description.

Botanical description

In 1985 Professor Turner has clearly distinguished the Chrysanthellum indicum subsp. Afroamericanum existing in  Africa from its close species Chrysanthellum americanum existing in Cuba, Honduras et Jamaica.

Chrysanthellum indicum subsp. Afroamericanum, originally from Peru and Bolivia, had been introduced in Africa in a recent past.

It is a small herbaceous plant containing numerous branches with few alternate leaves cut into slices. The flower heads are divaricated, yellow or orange with yellow hues, isolated at the tip of the stems or in the leaf sheaths at the extension of a long stalk.

In the Western Hemisphere, Chrysantellum is known for its physiological action on the liver, gall bladder and kidneys.

Uses, anecdote

In traditional medicine, this plant is used to fight against intestinal ailments, as a decoction for mouth wash against tooth aches or in some cases as hair wash against migraines. In the Western Hemisphere, golden chamomile is known for its physiological action on the liver, gall bladder and kidneys.

En savoir plus
Chrysantellum - Latitudes23
161
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-161,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1200,side_area_uncovered_from_content,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Chrysantellum

Nom commun
Chrysantellum americanum, Camomille d’or
Nom scientifique
Chrysanthellum indicum DC. subsp. afroamericanum B.L.Turner
Partie
Plante entière
Famille botanique
Asteraceae
Origine
Afrique, Amérique du Sud
Principes actifs
Saponosides, Flavonoïdes

Notre filière d'approvisionnement

Pays
Burkina Faso
Saison de récolte
Juin à Octobre
Description

Latitudes 23° a organisé ses filières de Chrysantellum americanum au Sud du Burkina Faso. En impliquant les villageois, cette activité agricole a développé une réelle émulation économique dans cette région et créé des sources de revenus alternatifs pour certaines familles rurales défavorisées. La récolte se fait durant la saison des pluies, entre juin et octobre. La vente de la plante aujourd’hui permet à certains de financer l’achat d’affaires scolaires en cette période de rentrée des classes.

Plusieurs campagnes de sensibilisation ont été réalisées auprès des femmes de différents villages, pour garantir une collecte durable qui respecte autant la ressource que l’environnement dans la savane. De plus, en diffusant les bonnes pratiques à mettre en œuvre lors des opérations de séchage, de tri et de conditionnement, ce travail de vulgarisation contribue à la préservation de la qualité intrinsèque de la plante.

Description de la plante

Description macroscopique

La drogue est constituée de la plante entière avec la racine. Voir la description botanique.

Description botanique

En 1985, le Professeur TURNER a différencié nettement l’espèce Chrysanthellum indicum subsp. Afroamericanum qui existe en Afrique de l’espèce voisine Chrysanthellum americanum présente à Cuba, au Honduras et en Jamaïque.

Le Chrysanthellum indicum subsp. Afroamericanum, originaire du Pérou et de Bolivie, a été introduit en Afrique dans un passé récent.

C’est une petite plante herbacée très rameuse avec des feuilles alternes très découpées et peu nombreuses. Les fleurs sont des capitules radiés, jaune à jaune orangé, isolées à l’extrémité des tiges ou à l’aisselle des feuilles dans le prolongement d’un long pédoncule.

Usages, anecdotes

En médecine traditionnelle, cette plante est utilisée contre différents troubles gastro-intestinaux, en décoction pour des bains de bouches contre les maux de dents ou éventuellement pour des lavages de tête en cas de migraine. En occident, la camomille d’or est reconnue pour ses actions physiologiques sur le foie, la vésicule biliaire et les reins.