En savoir plus
Desmodium - Latitudes23
805
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-805,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1200,side_area_uncovered_from_content,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Desmodium

Common name
Desmodium
Scientific name
Desmodium adscendens (Swartz) D.C.
Part
Leaf
Botanical family
Fabaceae
Origin
South America, Africa
Active ingredients
Saponosids (soyasaponines and dihydrosoyasaponines), flavonoïds, isoquinoleic alcaloïds (tétrahydroisoquinoléines), anthocyanosids and derived from tryptamin

Our supply chain

Country
Togo
Harvest season
October to March
Description

Desmodium comes from the highland regions of Togo, one of the most fertile in the country. This creeping plant from the Fabaceae family grows in the underbrush protected from intense sunlight. Its harvesters are mostly village women like Ama, Adama, and Akoua, who collect  “the peanut plant” that grows under cocoa and coffee plantations .The sale of this product represents a significant supplement to the revenues of the poorest rural families . This helps them financially to have access to basic needs such as hygiene, health and education.

Plant description

Macroscopic description

Desmodium leaves are composed of three oval leaflets that are 15 mm to 55 mm long and 10 to 30 mm wide. The middle leaflet is more developed than the lateral ones. Their tips are rounded. There are 5 to 7 lateral veins. The upper surface is smooth and hairless while the lower surface is entirely covered with hair, which gives it a particularly light coloring in the underside of the leaf. The petioles are 15 to 20 mm long. The terminal petiolules measure 5 to 7 mm and the lateral one measure only 1 mm.

Botanical description

Desmodium is a creeping perennial plant with multiple branches that grow as high as 50 cm.

The alternate leaves are composed of three oval leaflets that are 15 mm to 55 mm long and 10 to 30 mm wide. Its flowers are light purple and its fruit is a long green pod that measures 10 to 25 cm in length and 3mm in width. The petiole is only 15 to 20 mm long.

Uses, anecdote

In Africa, Desmodium adscendens is used to heal liver ailments, bronchial asthma, stomach ulcers or constipation.

En savoir plus
Desmodium - Latitudes23
114
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-114,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1200,side_area_uncovered_from_content,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Desmodium

Nom commun
Desmodium
Nom scientifique
Desmodium adscendens (Swartz) D.C.
Partie
Feuilles
Famille botanique
Fabaceae
Origine
Afrique, Amérique du Sud
Principes actifs
Saponosides (soyasaponines et dihydrosoyasaponines), des flavonoïdes, des alcaloïdes isoquinoléiques (tétrahydroisoquinoléines), des anthocyanosides et des dérivés de la tryptamine

Notre filière d'approvisionnement

Pays
Togo
Saison de récolte
Octobre à Mars
Description

Le Desmodium provient de la région des plateaux, l’une des zones les plus fertiles du Togo. Cette fabacée rampante pousse dans les sous-bois à l’abri d’un soleil trop intense. Ce sont essentiellement des femmes villageoises, comme Ama, Adama et Akoua, qui collectent « la Plante arachide » dans les plantations sous les caféiers et les cacaoyers. La vente de ce produit constitue pour les familles rurales les plus pauvres un complément de revenu non négligeable. Ceci contribue notamment à financer l’accès à des services de première nécessité comme l’hygiène, la Santé et l’Ecole.

En marge de cette filière de Desmodium, LATITUDES 23 a créé un fond dédié à l’achat de savons afin de répondre à un problème majeur soulevé par les femmes récolteuses : le manque d’hygiène entraînant des problèmes de santé dans les villages.

Description de la plante

Description macroscopique

Les feuilles du desmodium sont composées de trois folioles ovales de 15 à 50 mm de long et de 10 à 30 mm de large. La foliole médiane est nettement plus développée que les latérales ; leurs sommets sont arrondis. Il y a 5 à 7 nervures latérales. La face supérieure est glabre, ou quasi alors que la face inférieure est plus densément pubescente. Ceci donne une coloration caractéristique plus claire du dessous de la feuille. Le pétiole est long de 15 à 20 mm ; le pétiolule terminal de 5-7 mm, et les latéraux ne mesurent que 1 mm.

Description botanique

Le desmodium est une plante vivace rampante avec de multiples branches pouvant atteindre une hauteur de 50 cm.
Les fleurs sont de couleur légèrement pourpre-violet. Le fruit est une gousse verte longue de 10 à 25 cm et large de 3 mm.

Usages, anecdotes

En Afrique, le desmodium adscendens est utilisé principalement comme remède contre les maladies du foie, l’asthme bronchique, les ulcères d’estomac ou la constipation.