En savoir plus
Griffonia - Latitudes23
809
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-809,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1200,side_area_uncovered_from_content,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Griffonia

Common name
Griffonia
Scientific name
Griffonia simplicifolia (Vahl ex DC.) Baill.
Part
Seed
Botanical family
Caesalpiniaceae - Fabaceae
Origin
South America, Africa
Active ingredients
5- hydroxytriptophane (5-htp)

Our supply chain

Country
Togo
Harvest season
December-January
Description

Griffonia grows naturally in the South of Togo, one of the rainiest parts of the country. The local population knows this plant very well and use it to feed livestock.

When Karine discovered our interest in the Griffonia grains, many families jumped at the opportunity. Just like Dahappy, many other women picked and dried the pursued material. This new income generating activity has improved the living conditions of many homes. Setting up a supply chain of this plant in Togo contributes to the economic development of 7 forest villages, by offering an alternative source of income to the families involved.

Plant description

Macroscopic description

The seeds are round and smooth. They measure 15 to 20 mm in diameter and are 5 to 6 mm thick. The cuticle is black and the inside is greenish brown.

Botanical description

It’s a long vine with smooth brownish or black branches, which makes it look more like a shrub. The alternate leaves are simple and smooth. The petiole can measure up to 1.5 cm long and the oval leaf blade can measure 6 to 12cm by 3 to 6 cm. The latticed leaf veins are protruding on both faces. The inflorescence blooms in an axillary pyramidal cluster that is 5 to 20 cm long. The fruits are shaped like cylindrical oblique pods of about 8cm by 4 cm in size, with a 1 to 1.5 cm long feather grass. The fruits are swollen, leathery and contain 1 to 4 seeds.

Uses, anecdote

The griffonia leaves are used in traditional medicine to treat wounds. The bark is also used in some areas to treat syphilis-related injuries. Stems play a role in oral hygiene (brushing teeth) and are often used as chewing sticks.

With a protein content close to 16% and a high palatability, the aerial part of Griffonia is recognized as a good quality forage for feeding animals. This is the main use of this plant in the areas where it grows.

En savoir plus
Griffonia - Latitudes23
119
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-119,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1200,side_area_uncovered_from_content,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Griffonia

Nom commun
Griffonia
Nom scientifique
Griffonia simplicifolia (Vahl ex DC.) Baill.
Partie
Graine
Famille botanique
Caesalpiniaceae - Fabaceae
Origine
Afrique, Amérique du Sud
Principes actifs
5- hydroxytriptophane (5-htp)

Notre filière d'approvisionnement

Pays
Togo
Saison de récolte
Décembre-Janvier
Description

Le Griffonia est naturellement présent au Sud du Togo, dans la zone la plus arrosée du pays. La population locale connait bien cette plante et utilise son feuillage pour nourrir les animaux d’élevage.

Lorsque Karine a fait connaître notre intérêt pour les graines du Griffonia, de nombreuses familles y ont vu une opportunité. Ainsi, comme Dahappy, plusieurs femmes ont collecté et séché la matière recherchée. Cette nouvelle activité génératrice de revenus a permis d’améliorer les conditions de vie de plusieurs foyers. La mise en place de cette filière au Togo participe au développement économique de 7 villages forestiers en apportant une ressource alternative aux familles impliquées.

Description de la plante

Description macroscopique

Les graines sont orbiculaires et  glabres. Leur diamètre est de 15 à 20 mm et l’épaisseur de 5-6 mm. La cuticule est noire et l’intérieur est vert-marron.

Description botanique

C’est une grande liane à rameaux brun-noir glabres pouvant ressembler à un arbuste. Les feuilles sont alternes, simples et glabres. Le pétiole peut mesurer jusqu’à 1,5 cm de long et le limbe ovale, de 6–12 cm × 3–6 cm. Les nervures réticulées sont proéminentes sur les deux faces. L’inflorescence est en forme de grappe axillaire pyramidale de 5–20 cm de long. Les fruits sont des gousses obliques-cylindriques d’environ 8 cm × 4 cm, avec un stipe de 1–1,5 cm de long. Elles sont gonflées, coriaces, contenant 1–4 graines.

Usages, anecdotes

Les feuilles de griffonia sont utilisées en médecine traditionnelle pour soigner les plaies. L’écorce est également utilisée dans certaines régions pour traiter les lésions liées à la syphilis. Les tiges ont un rôle pour l’hygiène buccale (brossage des dents) et servent souvent de bâton à mâcher.

Avec une teneur en protéines proche de 16% et une forte appétence, la partie aérienne du griffonia est reconnue comme étant un fourrage de bonne qualité pour nourrir les animaux. C’est la principale utilisation de cette plante dans les régions où elle se développe.