En savoir plus
Hibiscus - Latitudes23
796
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-796,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1200,side_area_uncovered_from_content,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Hibiscus

Common name
Roselle
Scientific name
Hibiscus sabdariffa L.
Part
Calyx
Botanical family
Malvaceae
Origin
South America, Africa
Active ingredients
Citric, malic and ascorbic acid. The plant calyx is generally rich in anthocyanic pigments.

Our supply chain

Country
Burkina Faso
Harvest season
December
Description

Along with our partner in Burkina Faso, we have established 3 networks of Hibiscus collection in the country. The first one, located in the west near the border with Mali is organized by harvesters of the villages that belong to the same parish. We support the villagers’activity by pre-financing the purchase of the seeds and by putting forward the funds during harvesting for the purchase of the chalices under the auspices of the local priest. Our second Hibiscus collecting zone is located in the center of the country, where we support village women organizations in order to supplement their income. Lastly, we occasionally carry out purchases with local women vendors during their weekly markets in the South of the country.

Plant description

Macroscopic description

The calix is concrescent and its lower half is trumpet–shaped. Its upper half is separated into five acuminate and curved petals. The petals have a marked median vein that is slightly protuberant and carry a thick nectariferous gland that measures 1mm in diameter. The calyculus is composed of 8 to 12 narrow leaflets but are enlarged at the base , adhering to the base of the calyx. The calyx and the calyculus are fleshy, dry, brittle and bright red or dark purple, but tend to slightly lighten at the base of the inner face.

Botanical description

The hibiscus is a large herbaceous perennial plant (it can grow many meters high)

The stem can be totally smooth or slightly hairy and sometimes topped with sparse green or reddish spines. The leaves are alternate, simple with a lobed leaf blade, sometimes undivided, and attaining  15cm X 15 cm in size, often with a toothed margin, smooth or lightly hairy and sometimes topped with sparse spines on its median vein. The veins are palmed. Flowers are solitary and grow on the axils of the leaves. They possess independent ovate petals, and reaching up to 5cm X 3,5 cm in size. They can be pale yellow or pink, and its center is usually dark violet- red.

Uses, anecdote

In West Africa dried hibiscus calyx is used in the preparation of  herbal teas that are consumed either hot or cold. This drink is reputed for its capacity to reduce high blood pressure.

En savoir plus
Hibiscus - Latitudes23
121
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-121,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1200,side_area_uncovered_from_content,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Hibiscus

Nom commun
Hibiscus
Nom scientifique
Hibiscus sabdariffa L.
Partie
Calice (abusivement appelé Fleurs)
Famille botanique
Malvaceae
Origine
Afrique, Amérique du Sud
Principes actifs
Acides citrique, malique et ascorbique. Les calices sont également riches en pigments anthocyaniques.

Notre filière d'approvisionnement

Pays
Burkina Faso
Saison de récolte
Décembre
Description

Avec notre partenaire du Burkina Faso, nous avons établi 3 réseaux de collecte d’hibiscus dans le pays. Le premier à l’Ouest près de la frontière avec le Mali est animé par plusieurs collecteurs de village appartenant à une même paroisse. Nous soutenons l’activité des villageois en préfinançant l’achat des semences et en avançant les fonds au moment de la récolte pour l’achat des calices sous l’égide du prêtre local. Notre seconde zone de collecte d’hibiscus se situe au centre du pays où nous appuyons des organisations de femmes villageoises afin de compléter le revenu de leur foyer. Enfin, de manière ponctuelle, nous effectuons des achats auprès de femmes commerçantes sur des grands marchés hebdomadaires au Sud du pays.

Description de la plante

Description macroscopique

Le calice est concrescent et urcéolé sur sa moitié inférieure, sa moitié supérieure se sépare en 5 languettes acuminées et recourbées. Les languettes possèdent une nervure médiane bien marquée, légèrement proéminente, et portent une épaisse glande nectarifère mesurant environ 1 mm de diamètre.

Le calicule se compose de 8-12 folioles étroites, élargies à la base, adhérentes à la base du calice. Le calice et le calicule sont charnus, secs, friables, rouge vif ou violet sombre, et s’éclaircissent légèrement à la base de la face interne. (Sources : Phar. Eur.)

Description botanique

L’hibiscus est une grande plante herbacée annuelle (elle peut atteindre plusieurs mètres).

La tige peut être glabre à légèrement pubescente, parfois garnie de quelques aiguillons, verte ou rougeâtre. Les feuilles sont alternes, simples avec un limbe palmatilobé, parfois non divisé, atteignant 15 cm × 15 cm, bord denté, glabre ou légèrement pubescent, parfois garni de quelques aiguillons sur la nervure médiane, à nervures palmées. Les fleurs sont solitaires à l’aisselle des feuilles. Elles possèdent des pétales libres, obovales, atteignant 5 cm × 3,5 cm, jaune pâle ou rose pâle, au centre souvent rouge-violet foncé.

Usages, anecdotes

En Afrique occidentale, on utilise le calice d’hibiscus séché pour préparer une tisane qui se boit chaude ou froide. Cette boisson est réputée pour sa capacité à réduire la tension artérielle.